Taking on the challenge

I have decided to join in today at one of my favorite blogs Mama Jenn, in hopes that it will  motivate me to finish a project I started. I have been  slowly working my way around the house redecorating, reorganizing, cleaning, and in general trying to rid all the unnecessary excess. This month I am focusing on our family room. It has been the bane of my existence for a while now.  The room is upstairs in our house next to our playroom/schoolroom. It’s a fairly large room that we use for movie watching, crafting, gaming and workouts. Oh, it is also the dumping ground for whatever we don’t want in the rest of the house.

I always forget to take pictures before we start a project so you will have to believe me when I say that before I cleaned and rearranged the room, it was TERRIBLE! Toys, clothes, blankets, snack wrappers (yuck) and a whole lot of other junk littered the room.

We are planning to paint the room and a few pieces of the hand-me-down furniture we own. We will also be putting up some shelving, adding some lamps and new curtains as well as some new comfy pillows to throw on the couches. I am also on the lookout for a sofa table to place behind the couch to help cozy the place up a bit.

Here are a few before pictures. Check back at the end of June to see what we accomplished!

I am using this pillow as my inspiration piece. Comfortable and fun is what I’m hoping to accomplish when all is said and done.

3 Responses

  1. I love that pillow! What fun colors! 🙂 I’m sure it will turn out fantastic! Can’t wait to see!

  2. Your “before” pics look pretty good to me! 🙂 I can’t wait to see the after photos! I love the pillow too…some of my face colors to decorate with!

    Thanks for linking up!

  3. All the best with your mission – I’m also looking forward to seeing the “after” pics!

Leave a Reply

