Clothe yourself

I received this from a friend through e-mail a few months ago, and I loved it.

"Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved,
clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness,
humility, gentleness, and patience.

Colossians 3:12

Ever have trouble deciding what to wear?  I’ve found that even with a closet full of clothes, outfit selection can be a difficult undertaking. Some of my clothes seem to magically shrink in the dryer, so that I can no longer wear them.  Other time a favorite outfit just isn’t ready for my busy morning: not ironed, not washed, or perhaps washed but not dried!
It’s amusing to realize that we Christians have similar struggles with our Christian wardrobe.  In the book of Colossians, Paul lists five items with which we can clothe ourselves:  compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.  But this outfit doesn’t always work for me.

There are mornings when humility gets a little too tight because I have indulged in prideful thinking.  At times my compassion becomes wrinkled by someone’s unkind words.  Other days I find my gentleness and patience soiled by a poor attitude.
I am so glad that we have a God who can act as an instant tailor, dry cleaner, and ironer. If your Christian wardrobe is in disarray this morning, simply call out to God in prayer. With his divine alterations you can step out looking (and acting) mighty fine in your compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and
patience!

Leave a Reply

