Frugal Fall Decorating

I love Fall!!! Unfortunately here in Texas we don’t have much of one. it can be warm until November! But that doesn’t stop me from getting out all my fall decor anyway. A girl can dream, right? I found this great project from one of my favorite decorating blogs, and for the life of me I can’t find the post again, so sadly I can not give credit where credit is due.

This was a fairly cheap project considering how much these topiaries would cost in the store, but I still managed to spend more than I hoped. As a side note, I could have done much better with a coupon, but I didn’t buy the paper that week and didn’t have a current one to use.

This project cost me about $15.00. I bought my fall decor from Hobby Lobby, it was on sale there, but I think I would have done better at Michaels. I am going to wait until the end of the season to pick up more of the fall pieces to make another one for next year.

   I started this one, before I realized I was going to have to spray paint the foam parts, I used newspaper to stuff around the inside of the pot, so it wouldn’t move around. You could probably get a bigger foam piece so this wouldn’ t happen.

This isn’t the completed project, but I ran out of the fall pieces so I had to wait until I made it back to the store.

Supplies Needed:

Some kind of pot ( I used a clay one) black spray paint, a wooden dowel (you choose the size), foam ball (not sure the exact name) foam is needed for the bottom part as well, fall decor pieces.

Don’t you love all my “very specific” wording for these things? I’m hoping the pictures do a better job at explaining what I mean.

Spray paint the pot, the wooden dowel and the foam pieces. It’s important to spray the foam so that if there are any spaces between the pieces it’s not obvious.

Just start sticking in the pieces however you want.

Find more great frugal ideas at Life as Mom

3 Responses

  1. Your autumn topiary is just lovely and could easily be changed out to reflect any season or occasion…love the idea. Thanks for sharing your frugal craft ~ don’t you just love Hobby Lobby?!

    Blessings ~

  2. very cool! make one for christmas and post it!

  3. This looks great. It’s always hard to find inexpensive seasonal decorations so this is a wonderful idea that would work with other themes as well. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

