Growing up

This past week Zoe learned how to ride her bike without training wheels. I know it sounds crazy but as I watched her ride away, this overwhelming sense of emotion came over me. My baby is growing up.

She can now do most things on her own. She is smart, kind, loving, beautiful, helpful and just all together wonderful. I feel so blessed that God has intrusted her to us.

I hate that I can’t seem to capture this time. I can’t hold on to the moment, soak in the feeling, it’s fleeting going. gone. I selfishly want all those that know her, and all my children, to feel the same way, to understand that we can’t get this time back, we don’t get a second chance to relive this time. God has placed us here with each other for the relationships we have. We allow too many other things in life to take that away from us.

She is growing into a little woman, and although I know that I will enjoy and appreciate each new stage in her life, I don’t want to let this particular one to get away from me without doing my best to reach out and grab all of whats best about it. Her words, her smile, the way she looks with her hands on her hips when she’s telling me she’s mad at her brother, The tears when her feelings are hurt. Pictures are not always enough.

My baby is growing up and I can’t stop it. I want to, but I can’t.

2 Responses

  1. Wow. Congratulations

  2. YaY! Zoe!! Kaylee just learned how to ride without training wheels this past week.

Leave a Reply

