Why???

Today has been one of those days,  I have a hundred and one things on my plate and nothing seems to be getting done. The morning started off promising. I was up by 6:30 and by 10:00 I had accomplished more than I do in 3 days. But after that I pretty much went into melt down mode. I have a large project that I need to get done for my grad class, I have had a month to do it and of course I’m just now getting to it. Worse, I am clueless about the material, I thought I would (for your viewing pleasure) share a bit of what I have to study and internalize, just so I can complete this project. The real question is WHY? Why am I doing this to myself? It is so irrelevant to my life, and I’m sooooo bored with it. I have decided I am definitely done with school after this class. If it sounds like I am complaining… I am.  I am also very much procrastinating.  So please feel my pain, by reading through this and sympathize with me… just a little bit.

When the air is saturated with water vapour (at its dew point), the moist adiabatic lapse rate (MALR) or saturated adiabatic lapse rate (SALR) applies. This lapse rate varies strongly with the moisture content,[6] which depends on temperature, and lightly with pressure from 3 °C/km (high temperature near surface) to 9.78 °C/km (very low temperature), as one can see in the diagram. However, at temperatures above freezing it is usually near 4.9 °C/km (2.7 °F/1,000 ft or 1.51 °C/1,000 ft). The reason for the difference between the dry and moist adiabatic lapse rate values is that latent heat is released when water condenses, thus decreasing the rate of temperature drop as altitude increases.

Even though there can, for example, be no more than 15 grams of non-condensed water vapor per kilogram of moist air at 20 °C and 100kPa, the relatively high heat of vaporization of water results in the release of a significant amount latent heat when it condenses again. This heat release processs is an important source of energy in the development of thunderstorms. An unsaturated parcel of air of given temperature, altitude and moisture content below that of the corresponding dewpoint cools at the dry adiabatic lapse rate as altitude increases until the dewpoint line for the given moisture content is intersected. As the water vapor then starts condensing the air parcel subsequently cools at the slower moist adiabatic lapse rate if the altitude increases further.

4 Responses

  1. wow, I had to read over most of those words! What kind of project, like an essay ? Taylor informed me 2 days ago she needs a tornado model for her presentation on Fri, it is for science and this is most of her grade for it. I was going to call you and get some teacher ideas on what to do, I think I am going with the bottle of water, salt, food coloring and you swril the water around the bottle to show the funnel. sound ok?

  2. actually that sounds like it would have been VERY useful to us this past weekend!! 🙂 lol

  3. Wha-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-t??? Good luck with all of that, Angela, I thought I had it bad with all stimulus package gobbeldy-gook from the government, wanting to give the school money with no idea as to what and who we can spend the “manna from heaven.”

    I feel for ya!

  4. What are you getting your grad degree in?!

Leave a Reply

