It’s not such a struggle

     It took almost three years after Zoe was born for me to earn the title of stay at home mom. It wasn’t until after I first held Zoe in my arms that I even knew that I wanted to stay at home. But after she arrived It killed me thinking that I would be returning to work, so many days I would just hold her and cry at the injustice of having to leave my baby in the hands of another. Although she was in very capable hands, (my mother) those hands were not mine. When I got pregnant with Zack I had such a strong conviction about staying at home that I knew I would not be able to return to work after he was born. That’s when Steven and I began a faith walk. We knew that if God called me to be at home he would provide for us our every need. On paper it was impossible but every month our bills were paid and we had food to eat. Steven and I don’t even have a budget written out because we are afraid that by writing it out we will see the true condition of our finances and our faith might fail us.

I am always amazed at the women I talk to that say they could never afford to stay at home, or call me lucky because I do. It’s not about luck, it’s about having a conviction of being the one to raise my children. It’s about sacrificing. We don’t have fancy things, or drive expensive cars. I don’t shop malls, we don’t eat out much and we have inexpensive hobbies. There have been things we had to give up to make it work, but I don’t feel like I have had to give up much. God has taught me to be content with what he has given me. A friend said it best the other day. She said my husband’s job is to provide, my job is to be content with what he provides. 

 I used to feel bad when I wasn’t able to buy or pay for something that someone else might think I need. This usually involves any service I have to pay for. When I went to buy new glasses, the man tried to sell me all these upgrades on them. With my insurance I could come away with a new pair of glasses for 10 dollars. I started to feel a little guilty that I wasn’t going to be able to afford these “must have” upgrades. Until a thought came to me. I looked at the guy and said. You know, I’m a stay at home mom. We have had to make a lot of sacrifices in order for me to be at home with my children. I love being there with them and by making wise choices with our money and giving up a few things I hope to stay there. So I’m going to say no, to all of those things and just pray nothing happens to my glasses.  Surprisingly he said he really respected that and said he hopes that one day I wouldn’t have to sacrifice so much.  Since then I have used that line 2 other times and it’s worked.  I came across this blog today that spoke on this and really touched my heart. I hope you have time to check it out.

The Christian Homemaker

3 Responses

  1. LOVED your post. It was so encouraging to me. Thank you for being a living testimony of your convictions. I am a SAHM too…we have a family of 7, and God provides has always been faithful to provide for ALL of our needs.

  2. LOVED your post. It was so encouraging to me. Thank you for being a living testimony of your convictions. I am a SAHM too…we have a family of 7, and God has always been faithful to provide for ALL of our needs. We do have to pick and choose what is most important in our lives too. We don’t eat out often at all. We own our cars (though praying about a bigger vehicle!), I shop regularly at Goodwill (love it!) We are certainly still learning how to be more frugal with our $. It’s a process.

  3. I agree- it’s hard but so worth it!! And I’m praying for Zack- feel so bad for the little guy.

Leave a Reply

