Who are we living for?

The other morning while I was driving to class, I was having a conversation in my head about God. I tend to do this on a regular basis in the car, it seems to be the best environment for any serious discussions with myself 🙂 Lately I have had many conversations with many different people about the importance of God in our lives. I was even questioned by one person on why we (namely I) have to make everything about God. I was reflecting on this while I was driving.  The reason for the many discussions with people lately is because I have found myself in the midst of a lot of people (Christians) who almost never talk about God. Not that they don’t believe in Him, it’s just that He’s not something they want to talk about outside of church or church activities. I have really started to become bothered by this. Because isn’t that what true Fellowship is? Living our lives together for God, another form of worship. I was beginning to wonder was I just being self righteous? Why does it always have to be about God when I’m with other Christians? And then after some serious reflecting, it occurred to me, It Does need to be about God, because God made it all about us! about me! That’s why Jesus came to us, His life was lived for us. It’s why he died for us. – Not that I believe every conversation has to center on Him, but I question when I can spend hours with another believer and the natural flow of the conversation never leads to God. It’s an amazing feeling to reflect on God’s goodness, and His grace among many other attributes with someone who knows Him like you do, I want more of that in my life.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve had people say that to me too. Some mean it nice and others don’t. It is not something I consciously do, but it just happens. I love to talk to people who love to talk about Him. I don’t think that there is anything more exciting. Colossians 3:4 says “When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.”
    I love that phrase — who is your life– I so want that to be true, and I can’t wait until we finally have run our races and get to see Him face to face.

    Joy

  2. Amen!

Leave a Reply

