Super Saving Sunday

dscn3222.jpgOk, as I have said, I am on a quest to save money on our groceries. My goal is $ 40.00 a week on all house hold goods and groceries. I intend on doing it in several steps and plan on having this goal met in about 3 mths. It’s going to take me that long to set up my pantry, coupon system and menu planning system.

Step 1- Start coupon organizing system      Done  (I’ll share my picture soon)   

Step 2- Learn how to work the Grocery store and CVS coupons and rebate systems  I  think I might have figured out CVS

Step 3- Stock Pantry with Essential items and work on keeping it stocked

Step 4- Use the CVS extra care bucks to buy personal items, paper goods, cleaning products.

That’s as far as I have gotten. I will probably have to amend or add to some steps when I figure out what it is I don’t know!

Ok, I am so excited. I have been trying to figure out how to work the CVS system for a few weeks yet. And since I’m a chicken and don’t like looking like I don’t know what I’m doing I have been reading all of the things Crystal at Biblical Womanhood has shared about how to do it. Yesterday I took the plunge and went in with My store Ads and my coupons as well as my CVS card. Here’s how it worked. I only bought things that were on sale, that I also had coupons for or things that I earned extra bucks for that I also had coupons for.  Normally I wouldn’t buy from CVS because I think in general I can find things cheaper at Wal-Mart but this system really pays off. So as you can see in the picture I bought:

 6 boxes of Cereal at $ 1.77 a piece plus I had 3 coupons for $1.00/2 

I bought Tylenol  for $ 4.49 and had a coupon for $1.00 off and I earned $2.00 in extra bucks.

I bought 3 toothpastes at $2.99 a piece and I had a coupn for $1.00 off each and I earned $ 8.97 in extra bucks

I bought 2 adidas deodorants at $2.69 a piece, had a coupon for $1.00 and earned $6.00 extra bucks.

I bought another deodorant for $2.99 (no coupon) and earned $3.00 extra bucks

Ok so my total was $26.62 which turned out to be much higher than I had hoped BUT If you factor in the extra bucks I earned it is only $6.65   The best part is, I have those $19.97 Extra care bucks coupons that I can use toward any future purchase. So my plan is to use those to pay for other personal care items that have Extra bucks use my ECB coupons to pay for them and earn more ECB- therefore getting the item(s) for free. Although I do realize that I am going to have to buy items that don’t have ECB’s I’m hoping to keep ahead of the game. So my initial investment of $26.62 will quickly pay for itself.  Of course since I am very new to this, some of my methods could be faulty, but I think I am right on.

    

One Response

  1. so when you have family visiting from out of state, will this throw off your system?

Leave a Reply

