The Secrets Out

Another sleepless night… Only last night instead of the usual night interuptions from the children, I was awoken by our puppy Callie not just once but twice. After the 4:00 a.m. wake up call I was laying in bed wide awake, knowing that Zack would probably be waking up soon and trying to decide if I would be worse off going back to sleep. Apparently I decided sleep because at about 4:30 I woke up with another pair of eyes looking into mine. Not Zack’s but Zoe’s. She said “Mommy can you come with me?” I asked why and she said “to my room, I’m cold” I followed her to her room, where she had made a bed on the floor (yes her floor, not her perfectly good toddler bed) and proceeded to cover her up. Then I went back to bed to only be awakened 20 minutes later by Steven’s alarm.  At that point I really did have a decision to make, because Zack almost never sleeps past 5:40 and I knew I would be getting up with him.  So as I lay there contemplating I began to reflect on the night, It’s not that I mind being woken up- (by the dog -yes,) but I secretly enjoy waking up with the children. I especially love those nights when they wake up and they want to get in bed with us, or they just want to be rocked. Those moments are precious. It’s the only time of day when they let me just hold them and I get a chance to study thier features and reflect on how much they have grown, to pray for thier future and for wisdom for us as parents. It’s in these still quiet moments that I am reminded why I love being a mom.

5 Responses

  1. =) I love it!

  2. Just checking out your blog and as I read this, Chloe wanted up..to give me a hug, How precious the moments. You are right.

  3. Reading your blog, I just want to go and hug my girls and never let them go, having older girls though, (ages 9 and 4) they ask “what was that for”.

  4. I knew it !!!! I Knew It!!!!

    How Sweet. You are such a good Mommy I am lucky to call you my friend!

  5. First off I want to know why my comment on “Squashing The Sissy” never got posted. And I thought I was the only one with those supernatural thoughts of secretly wanting my baby to wake up in the middle of the night. Not that that was a rarety but on those nights when she did sleep and i felt well rested with only 3 hours of sleep. But don’t get me wrong I LOVE MY SLEEP! THANK YOU BABY WISE, THANK YOU LORD!!!

Leave a Reply

